Yes. All persons or businesses doing work within the City limits are required to obtain a Chino Hills Business License. To verify if the person you hired has a Business License visit Chino Hills Business License Search.
Show All Answers
For IN-CITY BUSINESSES, review the Business License page or visit the Community Development Department at City Hall. Additional questions? Call (909) 364-2670.
For OUT-OF-CITY BUSINESSES, please call our contracted vendor, HdL, at (909) 740-3187 to apply over the phone.
For IN-CITY BUSINESSES the total business license fee is $106.20 for the first year and $20.20 for subsequent years. Other fees may be required. See Business License webpage for more information.
For OUT-OF-CITY BUSINESSES the total business license fee is $20.20 per year. An $86 processing fee will be added if processed by City Staff.
Every business conducted from a home in the City of Chino Hills must have a Business License and a Home Occupation Permit even if the primary business activity occurs outside of the home. Both applications must be submitted together.
Cottage foods, as approved by the California Department of Public Health, are the only food types allowed to be made from a residential location.
- Home Occupation Permit Application
- At City Hall in the Community Development Department
The Home Occupation Permit will remain valid as long as the Business License is renewed annually before the expiration date; and the business has not moved to a new location/residence in Chino Hills.
Business Licenses are processed at the end of the "project", versus at the beginning. Chino Hills requires that any business leasing space in a commercial center have an exterior wall sign. The sign shall be permitted, installed and inspected before the Business License will be processed.
A Business License is valid for one (1) year. A renewal notice will automatically be sent approximately thirty (30) days before the expiration date. If you do not receive a renewal notice before the expiration date, please contact (909) 740-3187. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve the business owner of his/her responsibility to renew the Business License nor is it grounds for waiving any penalties due.
A Business License is not transferable. The license is terminated when there is a change in ownership. The new owner is be responsible for obtaining his/her own Business License.
The business license and City processing fee are waived for honorably discharged veterans, or veterans released from active duty under honorable conditions, who engage in the sale of tangible goods for which they own, except alcoholic beverages. Service businesses are not eligible for these fee waivers. A Veterans Exemption form and copy of DD214 required at time of submittal.
No. In-home day cares are licensed through the State of California, Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing. Call (800) 952-5253 or visit their website.
No. Residential adult care centers are licensed through the State of California, Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing. Call (800) 952-5253 or visit their website.
Fictitious business names (or dba: doing business as) are filed with the San Bernardino County Recorder's Office. To contact the Recorder's Office call (909) 387-8306 or visit their website. The Champion Newspaper will file the fictitious business name with the County Recorder and publish your fictitious business name statement. To contact the Champion Newspaper, call (909) 628-5501, Ext. 14.
Contact the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration at (800) 400-7115, or visit their website.
The City does not handle complaints about unfair business practice or poor service. If the complaint is regarding unfair business practice or poor service, contact the Better Business Bureau at (559) 222-8111 or visit their website.